You are currently viewing Grief And Loss Counseling In Greensboro

Grief And Loss Counseling In Greensboro

Grief And Loss Counseling In Greensboro

Grief is unique to each person.

Grief counseling or bereavement counseling focuses on supporting you with the grieving process. This process is unique to each person as situations vary. There are many versions of grief and ways that a person can experience loss.

Common reasons people start grief counseling:

  • Loss of a loved one.
  • Sudden health changes.
  • Loss of a job.
  • Loss of a pet.
  • Loss of employment.
  • Premature loss of a child.
  • A diagnosis.

Understanding Grief Counseling

I want to share with you a case study below that gives you an inside look at what grief counseling is like.

Sam started counseling after the passing of her mother. Sam shared with the counselor “you know I had everything under control. It was that last moment. The moment when the funeral service ended, and everyone left. It was like as soon as that happened, the flood gates opened. I just couldn’t hold it together anymore.” During the counseling session, the counselor asked “what happened after?”. Sam replied, “I have lost myself. I can’t sleep. I feel this pain of regret. So many things that I wish I would have done with her. I just don’t feel myself.”

As you review the example of grief counseling above, reflect on your life. Consider the following questions as you explore your grief.

  • What does grief mean to you?
  • When experiencing grief what does it feel like?
  • What was your life like before grief?
  • What thoughts do you experience that negatively impact your life?
  • What behaviors do you experience that negatively impact your life?

If you are ready to ready to start grief counseling?

Contact our counseling office. You can schedule a counseling session online using the self-schedule portal by CLICKING HERE, by email at [email protected], or by calling 336-663-6570.

How Does Grief Counseling Help?

Working with a grief or bereavement counselor gives you space to learn healthy coping skills, address negative thoughts, and develop a supportive treatment approach for the trauma you are experiencing.

Below are common ways grief counseling can help:

  • Reduce negative or bad symptoms.
  • Return to healthy practices and fun activities.
  • Get better sleep.
  • Treat trauma.
  • Develop a healthy support system.
  • Engage in healthy social interactions.
  • Healthy appetite.
  • Understanding of grief stages.

What Are The Five Stages Of Grief 

Denial is the first stage of grief

In the grief stage of denial, you may notice that you engage in avoidance of the loss. The avoidance can be to the situation or even the thoughts that you experience. The denial stage of grief also includes feeling confusion, an emotional state of shock, and fear.


Anger is the second stage of grief

The second stage of grief, anger is often one of the most challenging and consuming stages. You may notice that in this stage your thoughts are consumed with anxiety and frustration. At times, you may feel irritable towards others or on edge.


Bargaining is the third stage of grief

In the bargaining stage of grief, you may notice a disconnection with life and meaning. At times people say, “I can’t make sense of this?”. In this stage of grief, you may begin to reach out to others.


Depression is the fourth stage of grief

The fourth stage of grief is depression. In this stage of grief, you may feel helpless, low energy, and overwhelmed. The symptoms of depression can weigh heavily on a person during this stage. To the point that unwanted thoughts become difficult to push away.


Acceptance is the fifth stage of grief

The final stage of grief is acceptance. It is in this stage of grief that we reach a healthy place for moving on. During this stage, you are able to carry the loss in a healthy manner. This stage of grief doesn’t erase the grief. It is a genuine stage of acceptance. You feel that you are able to plan the next steps of your life.

Call 336-663-6570 To Start Grief Counseling