You are currently viewing Why Every Couple Should Read The 5 Love Languages

Why Every Couple Should Read The 5 Love Languages

How To Use The 5 Love Languages

1. Start with the 5 love language quiz

The quiz gives you access to understand how you receive love and how your partner receives love. Once you receive your answer, you’ll notice that they will have a unique order. Take time to read over each type of love language. The better you can understand your results and the love languages the easier it will be to create a positive change in your relationship. Working with a counselor is a great way to build education on the love languages as well as learn how to effectively apply them.


2. Use the love languages to create growth

Consider what your love language is. Let’s imagine that the highest language is physical touch. This simply means that out of all the ways you receive love, physical touch is the most significant. Think about it like a light bulb. You have 5 light bulbs. 4 of the when turned on light the room to the point that you can see about 80 percent of the room. The key love language lights the room at 100 percent. Without this key language being fully activated a person can feel disconnected from their partner. An additional supportive read is found in, 7 Signs You and Your Wife Are Truly A Team, read it here:


3. Use the love languages as a guide

Consider the purpose of the love languages before utilizing them. I like to consider the purpose connected to educating the foundation of the relationship. Teaching partners how to show up for each other in an effective transformational way. OFten what takes place is that one partner will show the other partner love in a way that they feel comfortable with versus what their partner is searching for. This can lead to disconnect, feeling that you are seen or heard, and a struggle to see a future for the relationship. 

The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman is a must-have self-help relationship book. This book is beyond words in its effectiveness to help struggling couples, individuals seeking healthy relationships, and therapists or counselors that work with couples. As a couple’s counselor, I use this book because it helps couples I work with understand how they accept and give love. Understanding the five love languages provides individuals with the proper guidance to achieving a healthy loving relationship.

Even now, this book continues to be ranked extremely high. I personally think it’s due to the book’s simple and direct approach in creating clarity and understanding around love. The book evaluates the five languages of love. These include acts of service, quality time, physical touch, gifts, and words of affirmation.

I strongly recommend the 5 love languages book and taking time to work with a counselor if you are experiencing issues in your relationship.

CLICK HERE to check it out

I love working with couples.

Sometimes I help them in the office, other times I encourage them to read supportive self-help books.

Relationships are bound to encounter moments that can make it or break it. I love the 5 love languages because it’s a supportive resource that can truly make a difference. The is loaded with guidance aimed to help people struggling to make it work in their relationship.

Are You Ready To Start Relationship Counseling?

Workbook For Couples:

This is a great couples workbook journal for couples that want to continue improving their relationship. The journal is filled with fun prompts, relationship strategies, inspirational topics, and educational exercises aimed to take your relationship to next level. Together you can create a safe and constructive space geared to building your dream relationship. The couples journal is a guide that supports you to:

  • Strengthen your emotional connection.
  • Sustain commitment.
  • Learn about each other’s life goals and relationship passions.
  • Increase time spent together.